How to Get the Best Deals on Paid Hotel Stays: FHR, Hyatt Privé, STARS, Virtuoso and More

The Bank restaurant at the Park Hyatt Vienna, empty at breakfast opening

Last updated: October 13, 2026. I update this guide when a program changes; see the changelog at the bottom.

The Bank restaurant at the Park Hyatt Vienna, empty at breakfast opening
The Bank, the restaurant at the Park Hyatt Vienna, from my recent stay.

Quick Take

  • If you have an Amex Platinum, start with Fine Hotels + Resorts: breakfast for two, a $100 credit, guaranteed 4pm checkout, and the card’s hotel credit (up to $300 twice a year) works on prepaid FHR stays.
  • If you have a Chase Sapphire Reserve, The Edit gives similar perks, plus two $250 credits a year on prepaid stays of two nights or more.
  • At Hyatt, Marriott, Hilton, IHG and Accor luxury hotels, an advisor booking through the chain’s own program (Hyatt Privé, STARS and Luminous, Hilton for Luxury, IHG Destined, Accor Preferred) adds the perks and, at Hyatt and Marriott, still earns points and elite night credit.
  • For Four Seasons, Rosewood, Mandarin Oriental, Peninsula, Belmond and similar brands, use the brand’s advisor program or Virtuoso; no card portal covers all of them.
  • The catch everywhere: the perks usually require the flexible rate, which can cost more than the cheapest prepaid or member rate, so compare before you book.

We’re all here to save money and have better travel experiences. The beauty of points/miles is that you can get outsized value, or simply experience things that we normally might not be able to afford. Using points, however, isn’t the only way to make that happen. It’s harder to do with flights, but you can certainly do so with hotels. In this post I’m going to detail how to get the best deals on paid hotel stays.

How Most People Book Now

Most people, I don’t necessarily mean readers of this blog, book hotels in a way that gives me extreme frustration. When intending to pay with money (as opposed to points) they often book through online travel agencies like Priceline or Hotels.com, or perhaps they book directly on the hotel website.

There’s nothing “wrong” with booking this way. People who book this way will still get what they booked for, of course. But as I mentioned earlier, our game is to do better than we normally could. So, how can we either get these cheaper or get more for our money compared to the above methods of booking?

Here’s How To Get the Best Deals on Paid Hotel Stays

Funny enough, using a travel advisor/agent is the best way to do so. Don’t worry, I’m not trying to sell you anything…I’m not a travel agent. But let me explain how they can get us the best deals on paid hotel stays.

Many of the most popular hotel brands have special booking programs that give you all kinds of perks if booked through a travel agent. Other programs exist that are more generic but give you similar perks. I know the word “perks” isn’t very descriptive, and that’s because the benefits you receive vary by hotel and by program.

You may get one or all of the following depending on the program: free breakfast, early check-in, late check-out, a $100 property credit, room upgrades, welcome gifts, and more. So what’s the catch? Well, really the only catch is that the cost is often the Standard Room Rate. This is often (but not always) a bit more expensive than the cheapest room rate available (prepaid rate, AAA discount, etc.)

Note that not all hotels have this available. You won’t find these perks at the Hyatt Place or Holiday Inns of the world. But you’ll find many mid-tier and a ton of high-end properties have these perks available.

Below is a quick rundown of each program, listed in alphabetical order. Links are provided where you can book directly on your own.

October 2026: the rundown below now covers far more programs than the 2021 version, grouped into card programs, hotel-brand programs and agency networks (alphabetical within each), with a comparison table first.

Comparison Table

ProgramWho can bookTypical perksHotel points / elite creditHow to book
Amex Fine Hotels + ResortsUS Platinum and Centurion cardsBreakfast for two, $100 credit, upgrade if available, noon check-in, guaranteed 4pm checkout, Wi-FiYes, per One Mile at a TimeAmex Travel
Amex The Hotel CollectionGold, Platinum and Centurion cards$100 credit, upgrade, noon check-in and 4pm checkout when available; 2-night minimumNot statedAmex Travel
The Edit by Chase TravelSapphire Reserve (personal and business)Breakfast for two, $100 credit, upgrade, early/late, Wi-FiNot statedChase Travel
Citi The ReserveStrata Elite, Strata Premier, Prestige$100 experience credit, breakfast for two, upgrade and early/late when available, Wi-FiUnknownCiti Travel
Capital One Premier / Lifestyle CollectionVenture X (Premier); Venture X and Venture (Lifestyle)Premier: up to $100 credit, breakfast, upgrade, early/late, Wi-Fi. Lifestyle: up to $50, no breakfastMay not apply (third-party booking)Capital One Travel
Visa Infinite Luxury Hotel CollectionVisa Signature and Visa InfiniteBreakfast for two, $25 food and beverage credit, upgrade and late checkout when available, Wi-FiNot statedVisa Infinite Hotels site
Mastercard Luxury Hotels & ResortsWorld, World Elite, World LegendBreakfast for two, amenity up to $100, upgrade and early check-in when available, 3pm checkoutMay not applyMastercard travel site
Hyatt PrivéAnyone, via advisor$50–$100 credit, confirmed upgrade, breakfast for two, early check-in (late checkout at Park Hyatt)Yes, including elite benefitsAdvisor
Marriott STARS / LuminousAnyone, via advisorBreakfast for two, upgrade, Wi-Fi, amenity; $100 credit at STARS (some Luminous)Yes (points and elite nights)Advisor
Hilton for LuxuryAnyone, via advisorBreakfast for two, $100 credit, upgrade, early/lateDouble points, per HiltonAdvisor
IHG DestinedAnyone, via advisor$100 credit, breakfast for two, upgrade, early/late, amenityEarns points (elite not stated)Advisor
Accor PreferredAnyone, via advisor$100 credit, breakfast for two, upgrade, early or late, Wi-FiYes (points and elite nights)Advisor
Independent brand programs (Four Seasons, Rosewood, Mandarin Oriental, Peninsula, Belmond and others)Anyone, via advisorBreakfast, about $100 credit, upgrade, amenity (varies by brand)No chain programAdvisor
Virtuoso and other agency networksAnyone, via advisorBreakfast for two, upgrade and early/late when available, about $100 amenityDepends on the hotelAdvisor

Quick Answers

What do luxury hotel booking programs include?

Most add daily breakfast for two, a property credit of about $100 per stay, a room upgrade when available, and early check-in or late checkout. You get them by booking the qualifying rate through a credit card travel site (Amex Fine Hotels + Resorts, The Edit by Chase Travel) or through a travel advisor affiliated with the program (Hyatt Privé, Marriott STARS, Virtuoso).

Do you still earn hotel points on FHR, Hyatt Privé or STARS bookings?

Hyatt Privé and Marriott STARS and Luminous bookings earn points and elite night credit, and Hyatt elite benefits such as Globalist suite upgrades still apply. Hilton advertises double Honors points on Hilton for Luxury stays. One Mile at a Time says FHR stays earn points and elite nights too, while some bank portals (Capital One, Mastercard) may be treated as third-party bookings.

Can I book Hyatt Privé or Virtuoso perks myself online?

No. Hyatt Privé, STARS and the other hotel-brand programs can only be booked through an affiliated travel advisor, and Virtuoso shows rates on its own site but still requires an advisor to book. The hotel charges you directly, and the perks generally require the flexible rate, which can cost more than a prepaid or member rate.

Card Programs (Book Through Your Card’s Travel Site)

These are the easiest to use: log in to your card’s travel site, look for the program’s badge on the hotel, and pay with the card.

American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts

If you’ve followed this blog for a while, you probably don’t need much of an intro to this one. People that hold any version of the Amex Platinum card have access to the Fine Hotels and Resorts program through Amex Travel. Benefits include:

  • Early Check-in
  • Room Upgrade
  • Daily Free Breakfast for two
  • $100 credit (depends on hotel)
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • 4pm Late Check-out

October 2026: FHR is open to US consumer, business and corporate Platinum cards and Centurion (not companion or Delta Platinum cards). Breakfast is valued at the greater of $60 per room per day or twice the hotel’s cheapest breakfast combo, check-in is from noon when available, and 4pm checkout is now guaranteed. Amex says there are over 1,900 properties. The Platinum’s hotel credit is up to $300 twice a year ($600 total) on prepaid FHR or Hotel Collection bookings, and the card’s annual fee is $895 (Amex, Amex Platinum, Doctor of Credit). One Mile at a Time says FHR stays at chain hotels earn points and elite nights. My Palazzo review shows what an FHR stay looked like in practice.

American Express The Hotel Collection

The Hotel Collection is FHR’s cheaper sibling, open to Gold, Platinum and Centurion cards (Delta cards excluded), with more than 1,400 hotels. It requires two consecutive nights and gives a $100 credit, plus an upgrade, noon check-in and 4pm checkout when available, so the late checkout isn’t guaranteed the way it is with FHR (Amex). Platinum cardholders can put the semi-annual hotel credit toward prepaid Hotel Collection stays too.

Whether Hotel Collection stays earn hotel points and elite credit isn’t stated by Amex.

Capital One Premier Collection and Lifestyle Collection

Booked through the Premium Stays tab on Capital One Travel. Premier Collection hotels give up to a $100 experience credit, daily breakfast for two, Wi-Fi, and an upgrade, early check-in and late checkout when available; Lifestyle Collection hotels give up to $50, Wi-Fi and the same when-available extras, but no breakfast (Capital One). Capital One only says “eligible cardholders”; AwardWallet says Premier is for the Venture X and Venture X Business, Lifestyle also opens to the Venture cards, and because these are third-party bookings, hotel points and elite benefits may not apply.

The Edit by Chase Travel (Formerly the Luxury Hotel & Resort Collection)

Chase replaced its Luxury Hotel & Resort Collection (the subject of my 2016 comparison with FHR) with The Edit, which is only for Sapphire Reserve cardmembers (personal and business, per Doctor of Credit). The perks are daily breakfast for two, a $100 credit toward dining, spa or activities, an upgrade at check-in, early check-in or late checkout, and Wi-Fi, some of it subject to availability (Chase).

The Reserve also carries up to $500 a year in Edit credits, as two $250 credits on prepaid stays of two nights or more. Doctor of Credit reports that since 2026 both can be used at any point in the year (Chase’s own explainer page still describes a January–June and July–December split), and that points paid through Points Boost don’t count toward them.

Citi The Reserve

Citi’s version is The Reserve, a tier of the Hotel Collection on Citi Travel, for Citi Strata Elite, Strata Premier and Prestige cardmembers. Pick a property tagged “The Reserve” and the matching room rate, and you get a $100 experience credit (each hotel decides what it is, sometimes a gift card), daily breakfast for two, Wi-Fi, and an upgrade, early check-in and late checkout when available (Citi). The broader Citi Hotel Collection is open to any Citi cardmember on Citi Travel and gives breakfast, Wi-Fi and early/late when available, without the credit. Whether these stays earn hotel points is still an open question (Frequent Miler).

Mastercard Luxury Hotels & Resorts

US World, World Elite and World Legend Mastercard holders can book through Mastercard’s travel site for breakfast for two, an amenity worth up to $100, an upgrade and early check-in when available, and 3pm checkout when available. As with the other bank portals, some hotels may treat these as third-party bookings with no elite benefits (AwardWallet, April 2026).

Visa Infinite Luxury Hotel Collection

Despite the name, Visa Signature cards can use it too. The site lists more than 900 hotels, and the standard benefits are daily breakfast for two, a $25 food and beverage credit, an upgrade and late checkout when available, Wi-Fi and VIP guest status; some hotels add a bigger credit for Visa Infinite cards when the whole stay is booked through the site or Visa Concierge and paid with the card (Visa Infinite Hotels FAQ). The $25 credit is the smallest of the card programs, but it costs nothing extra if you already carry the card.

Hotel Brand Programs (Book Through a Travel Advisor)

These are run by the hotel companies themselves, and you can only get them through an advisor affiliated with the program. Most require the flexible (standard) rate, and the hotel charges you directly.

Accor Preferred

Accor’s advisor program, formerly called Accor STEP, covers Sofitel, Fairmont, Raffles, Orient Express, Banyan Tree, Faena and SLS, plus select SO/, Emblems, Delano, MGallery and other hotels. On the best flexible rate you get a $100 credit per stay, breakfast for two, an upgrade when available, early check-in or late checkout, and Wi-Fi, and some hotels require two nights. One Mile at a Time says these stays still earn ALL points and elite nights.

Belmond Bellini Club

I haven’t stayed at a Belmond hotel personally. These are high-end ($$$) hotels that are unlike the chain hotels my readers normally stay at, and they also offer similarly high-end trains and cruises. If you’re booking a pricey hotel, might as well get some extra perks, right? Here’s what you can get:

  • Room Upgrade
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Daily Buffet or full breakfast for 2
  • Hotel credit up to $200 per stay
  • $500 Gift Voucher for future travel when purchasing an experience of $5,000 or more (voucher must be used on a $2,500+ booking)
  • VIP Recognition (usually this means they research your likes/dislikes so they can customize your experience)
  • Special in-room welcome amenity
  • Top-of-the-waitlist priority for high demand properties and experiences

October 2026: One Mile at a Time now lists the hotel credit as $100 to $220 per stay depending on the property ($45 to $100 per person on trains and river cruises), and the voucher as $500 when you spend $10,000 or more, for use on a future Belmond trip of $5,000 or more. Belmond is owned by LVMH.

Dorchester Collection Diamond Club

Prince of Travel describes the perks as an upgrade confirmed at booking (up to a junior suite), breakfast for two including in-room dining, a credit of 100 in local currency per stay (per day in suites), a welcome amenity and a no-walk guarantee, with exceptions at a couple of hotels. It can’t be combined with Virtuoso or FHR.

Four Seasons Preferred Partner

I’m one of those people that loves Four Seasons. I simply haven’t stayed at a hotel that provides a better experience than their hotels do. Maybe it’s because I refuse to pay to stay anywhere nicer, but either way I think most people would be extremely happy staying at a Four Seasons hotel. Their Preferred Partner program isn’t as cut and dry and varies a lot by hotel, but you will likely get at least some of the below benefits:

  • VIP Status (similar to above, they will learn your likes/dislikes to give you better service)
  • Potential upgrades
  • Potential hotel credits, depending on hotel
  • Potential free breakfast

This is one where your travel advisor will really have to guide you and explain what benefits and amenities are available.

October 2026: One Mile at a Time‘s current summary is breakfast for two per bedroom, a space-available upgrade and a credit of at least $100 per stay (often more in suites), and the perks can be added to most Four Seasons rates.

Hilton Impresario (Now Hilton for Luxury)

If you’ll be staying at a Conrad, LXR, or Waldorf Astoria property, then it’s probably worth checking with an advisor to see if the benefits are worth it. These are often better than what a Hilton Diamond member would get with their status alone:

  • Daily breakfast for two
  • Hotel credit of $100 USD per stay
  • Room Upgrade
  • Potential early check-in and late check-out

October 2026: Hilton renamed Impresario as Hilton for Luxury in 2024, and it now covers Waldorf Astoria, LXR, Conrad, NoMad and Signia by Hilton. Hilton’s page lists breakfast for two, a $100 credit per stay, a next-category upgrade, early check-in and late checkout when available, last-room availability and double Hilton Honors points.

Hyatt Privé

The adult pool with stone arches at the Park Hyatt St. Kitts
The adult pool at the Park Hyatt St. Kitts, from my 2017 stay.

Hyatt Privé benefits are available at all Park Hyatt, Andaz, and Miraval hotels. They are available at many Grand Hyatt, Hyatt Centric, Hyatt Regency, The Unbound Collection, Thompson, Alila, and Joie de Vivre hotels as well. You’ll need to reach out to a travel advisor to find a complete list.

Hyatt is a fan-favorite hotel chain. Being a top-tier Globalist member gets you great perks, but Hyatt Privé gets you better ones. Here’s what you get:

  • Room upgrade
  • Priority early check-in and late check-out (not guaranteed)
  • Daily full breakfast for two
  • $50-$100 property credit per stay ($100 guaranteed at Park Hyatt hotels)
  • Priority for connecting rooms
  • A small welcome gift

October 2026: per One Mile at a Time, the upgrade is now confirmed within 24 hours of booking (when available), early check-in can be as early as 9am, and Park Hyatt adds late checkout up to 4pm when available. Grand Hyatt, Hyatt Regency, Alila, Joie de Vivre, Thompson and Unbound hotels require two nights, Park Hyatt and Andaz have no minimum, and only the flexible rate qualifies. You still earn World of Hyatt points and get your elite benefits, including Globalist suite upgrades.

IHG Destined

IHG relaunched its luxury and lifestyle advisor program as IHG Destined. IHG’s page lists Six Senses, Regent, InterContinental, Kimpton, Vignette, Hotel Indigo and other brands, and the Destined rate adds a $100 credit per stay, full breakfast for two, early check-in, a one-level upgrade and late checkout when available, a welcome amenity, and IHG One Rewards points.

Jumeirah Passport to Luxury

Jumeirah doesn’t publish the perks, but advisor listings describe a $75 food-and-beverage or spa credit ($100 at the Burj Al Arab), daily breakfast, an upgrade on arrival and early/late when possible, a welcome amenity and Wi-Fi. The Burj Al Arab itself is closed for restoration until late 2027.

Kempinski Club 1897

Kempinski’s own site (2023) describes Club 1897, available through select agencies, with free breakfast, priority upgrades and a $50 or $100 resort credit.

COUTURE by Langham

Langham’s invitation-only advisor program is now styled COUTURE by Langham. Langham’s page only promises client amenities and priority booking; advisor listings for The Langham in Chicago, Pasadena and Boston show a $100 to $125 credit, daily breakfast, and upgrades and early/late whenever possible.

Mandarin Oriental Fan Club

A $100 food-and-beverage or spa credit once per stay, daily full breakfast for two, an upgrade at check-in when available, a welcome amenity, and priority on waitlists, per One Mile at a Time. It can’t be stacked with the perks of Fans of M.O., Mandarin’s own loyalty program.

Marriott STARS and Marriott Luminous

STARS covers Ritz-Carlton, Ritz-Carlton Reserve, St. Regis, EDITION, Bulgari and, according to some advisors, The Luxury Collection: breakfast for two daily, a $100 credit once per stay, an upgrade when available, Wi-Fi and a welcome amenity, with no minimum stay. Luminous is the version for select JW Marriott, W, Autograph Collection, Westin, Le Méridien, Marriott, Renaissance and Tribute hotels: breakfast, early check-in and late checkout, an upgrade, Wi-Fi and an amenity, with a credit only at some hotels.

Both require the standard flexible rate and count as qualifying stays for Bonvoy points and elite night credit, though Bulgari and Ritz-Carlton Reserve aren’t part of Bonvoy (One Mile at a Time).

Oetker Collection Pearl Partner

A €100 food-and-beverage or spa credit for one night (€200 for two or more), full breakfast for two per bedroom, a one-category upgrade confirmed at booking when available, and a courtesy car where available (One Mile at a Time).

The Peninsula PenClub

A guaranteed upgrade at booking (room to room, suite to suite, with some exclusions), a $100 food-and-beverage or spa credit once per stay, breakfast for two and an upgraded welcome amenity. “Peninsula Time” (check in from 6am, check out as late as 10pm) applies too, though One Mile at a Time notes you can get that by booking direct.

Rocco Forte Knights

Rocco Forte’s invitation-only consultant network. Prince of Travel lists a €85 to €250 hotel credit, a priority upgrade, early check-in and late checkout, daily breakfast for two, 20% off spa treatments and a welcome note.

Rosewood Elite

Breakfast for up to two per bedroom, an upgrade on arrival when available, a welcome amenity and note, and other perks that vary by hotel and can include a $100 credit, with no minimum stay (One Mile at a Time).

Shangri-La Luxury Circle

Shangri-La doesn’t publish current details, and the most recent descriptions available date from 2022: breakfast for two, a one-category upgrade at booking when available, 11am check-in and 4pm checkout when available, a VIP amenity, and a $50 or $100 credit (TravelSort, 2022). Ask an advisor what applies now.

Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH withIN)

SLH has an invitation-only advisor program, SLH withIN, with perks that vary by hotel (a $50 to $100 credit, continental breakfast, a priority upgrade, early/late, Wi-Fi) and usually can’t be combined with Virtuoso perks. Separately, since 2024 most SLH hotels can be booked through Hilton, where those bookings earn Honors points and Gold and Diamond members get continental breakfast and space-available upgrades (The Milelion).

Brands Without Their Own Program

Aman has no loyalty program, and One Mile at a Time says the extra perks there come through Virtuoso. Auberge, One&Only, Montage, Pendry, Relais & Châteaux and The Leading Hotels of the World don’t publish a brand-run advisor program either; agencies offer perks at those hotels through Virtuoso, their own networks or in-house programs.

Two loyalty programs (which you join yourself, no advisor needed) are worth knowing about here: The Leading Hotels of the World’s free Leaders Club, and Preferred Hotels’ I Prefer, which gives early check-in, late checkout and Wi-Fi from the first tier.

Agency Networks (Book Through a Travel Advisor)

Travel agencies band together in networks that negotiate their own perks at thousands of hotels, which is how advisors get benefits at hotels that have no program of their own.

October 2026: of the networks below, only Virtuoso was in the 2021 draft.

Ensemble Travel

Ensemble is a network of agencies with its own preferred partners, but it doesn’t publish a single standard hotel package; offers vary by hotel (Ensemble).

Fora

Fora is a newer host agency: independent advisors pay a membership fee and book under its umbrella. It belongs to the major hotel programs, Virtuoso included, and runs its own Fora Reserve program that adds perks at hotels outside them or on top of them (Fora).

Internova SELECT Hotels & Resorts

Internova (the Travel Leaders family of agencies) runs SELECT Hotels & Resorts: a VIP amenity worth $100, daily breakfast for two, an upgrade and early check-in or late checkout on availability, and Wi-Fi (Internova).

Signature Travel Network

A co-op of agencies with more than 6,000 advisors (Signature). Its Hotels & Resorts Collection had more than 1,300 hotels as of 2025 and adds breakfast for two, a credit, an upgrade and late checkout.

Virtuoso

At a Virtuoso hotel you get daily breakfast for two per bedroom, an upgrade and early check-in or late checkout when available, and one amenity per stay, usually a $100 property credit (sometimes a massage, transfer or meal). There’s no minimum stay and the hotel charges you directly. Virtuoso shows rates on its own site, but you have to book through an affiliated advisor, and unlike FHR the late checkout isn’t guaranteed (One Mile at a Time, Frequent Miler).

How to Actually Book One of These

For card programs it’s simple: log in to your card’s travel site, look for the program’s badge, and pay with that card (Amex also requires the cardholder to be on the trip). For everything else you need an advisor affiliated with the program, and any agency that belongs to it can book it. Ask for the rate with the program perks, then compare it with the cheapest rate you can find on your own; the perks only pay off if the difference is smaller than what you’ll actually use.

I still don’t take affiliate or referral money, so there are no advisor recommendations or booking links here, just the programs and where their rules are published.

Sources (Checked October 13, 2026)

Changelog

  • October 13, 2026: Finished and published. Added The Hotel Collection, The Edit, Citi The Reserve, Capital One, Mastercard and Visa; Marriott STARS and Luminous, Hilton for Luxury (formerly Impresario), IHG Destined, Accor Preferred and other brand programs; agency networks; a comparison table; and dated notes on the 2021 sections.
  • March 2021: First draft (FHR, Belmond, Four Seasons, Hilton Impresario, Hyatt Privé).

About Omar and Travel Summary

Omar has written Travel Summary since 2011. He has been booking award trips with miles and points since then, has been featured in Vice and Forbes, and has spoken at Frequent Traveler University. No sponsored posts, no affiliate links. More about Travel Summary

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.